The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville recommended to institute a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program based on the sucess gained by Avon Repertory Company from their 'Free Plays in the Park' program. The author of this argument assumes that the decline in the size of the average audience is due to less people being attracted to their shows despite increasing their advertisements. The author's recommendation is based on false assumptions and rife with holes, therefore, making it necessary to answer following three questions before a recommendation can be made.

First, why were the advertisements ineffective in attracting people in the shows? Furthermore, it is not even apparent whether the advertisements were indeed targetted to the correct audience. There are a lot of unaccounted factors involved which could have a direct influence on the number of audience attracted by the advertisement. It is possible that the advertisements were directed to wrong mass; if the right audience are not aware of the shows they want to see, the advertisements would automatically become meaningless. In addition to this, the author's assertion on the efficacy of advertisements in attracting audience is neither based upon a statistical study nor transparent enough to convey that the handful of audience that indeed came to watch the show were not due to the advertisement. It is, therefore, essential to examine the efficacy of the advertisement more thoroughly in order for the recommendation to produce a predicted result.

Second, is it accurate to compare the two programs in two different theatres? The author's recommendation is highly based on the success of the program in another company; the very company which might be entirely different from the author's company in terms of their audience, investment, management, and overall popularity. It is highly likely that the success of the other company was brought about by their initial status in the market as well as they could have incurred a loss in real and potentially revealed it as a profit to trap their competitors. The author's argument is, thereby based on fallacies and not well articulated to support his recommendation.

However, even if it is considered that the two programs are similar and might have some merit to the author's company as well, how can we compare the program from two years to current scenario? It has been proven that people and their views are fickle and it doesn't take much time for a particuar fashion to be obsolete and get replaced by another in current era. Therefore, it would be a grave mistake to view the audiences in the same light even after two years. If this hold merit, then the author's argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, as we stand now, the author's recommendation if severely flawed and based on unwarranted assumptions. It is essential to proceed with a scientific study to gather more statistical data on the efficiency of advertisements and strategize better for their own audience rather than comparing with other companies. If above questions can be answered, the author's recommendation can potentially bring about intended results.