As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but

more complex and mysterious.

Human beings have always been curious kinds amongst millions of lifeforms on earth since the dawn of the civilization; the ones whose thirst for knowledge can never be satiated. However, it is also said that "little knowledge is dangerous"; often lack of knowledge or sometimes more than required information can turn particular situations unfavorable to us as well. Saying that, we obviously cannot ignore the fact that advacement of knolwedge and comprehension has led us to current era where we still continue to look for answers to unsolved queries of nature, society, and the world. Therefore, in contrast to the assertion of the prompt, I believe that gaining more knowledge definitely makes us better and enhances our capabilities, but on the other hand, it can also result in things getting out of hand as we continue to unravel the mysteries of the world.

To begin with, the advent of industrialization, modernization and economic advancement in current era has been possible only because we kept on exploring and gaining knowledge about different aspects of our environment. Without people acquiring information, inventing things, and making novel discoveries, we woud not have been able to enjoy what we have today. For instance, the fact that a young student can talk to his mom who lives thousands of miles away with a simple phone call is itself the proof of our achievements gained from striving for more knowledge. Had anyone imagined few decades ago that people would be able to talk to another person regardless of the physical distance? Certainly not; in fact people would be writing letters to the date and waiting days or even months to get the letter. This has visibly changed billions of lives around the globe and continued breakthroughs made in the technology with enhanced understanding and better knolwedge will foster even better changes in the future. With above example, it is easily understood how acquiring more knowledge made things more simpler and better.

Furthermore, gaining knowledge has also broadened our horizons; knowledge and information has brought about a revolution in our understanding and opened new portals of imagination. For example, Galilio was once condemned for spreading false information that 'earth revolved around the sun instead of the vice versa'; later with sufficient understanding and knolwedge about the solar system, the very person is remembered for his insight and contribution. This also suggests that knolwedge gives birth to enlightment, unravels the mysteries and helps us differentiate rights amidst wrongs. If we did not gained sufficient understanding of our solar system, we would still believe that earth revolved around the sun which would forever keep under the dark. Heeding to this, the prompt's arguement clearly doesn't hold water and it is plausible to say that knowledge unravels the mysteries rather than making them more complex.

However, there are some instances where we acquired a lot of knowledge and our understanding led to more complex matters. Let's take an example of space time continnuum and our understanding of the universe; be it the subject of black hole, the presence of foreign life forms 'Aliens' or the origin of the universe, it seems like the more we gain knowledge and information about them, the more we fall into the abyss. If we had no knolwdge of black holes or the outer space, we would not be pondering how those things work. Scientists are determined to find a life in the outer space which leads to new discoveries the more we strand in the vast universe; who knows what mysteries and secrets the universe is keeping from us. Therefore, it is inevitable that with progressing understanding of these minute elements, it will lead us to more complex ideas and mysteries to unravel leaving us with our imagination and boggling mind.

Knowledge is rather vague and never ending with so much to learn and explore. We have attempted to untie the knots of the secret pouch of nature but being able to barely pull the strings. Despite learning how vast knowledge is, it woud be a crime to ignore how knowledge has made our lives simpler and easier. We must strive to explore and acquire more knolwdge even if they do not make things more comprehensible because, ableit late, it is certain that eventually we will be able to unravel the mysteries with adequate knowledge.