"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most

students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city

government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority

they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax

revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as

much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities

have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a

higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City

residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper states that Parson city has a higher empahsis on the provision of good education in public schools as compared to the Blue city. The author asserts this because of higher proportion of budget allocated by Parson city as compared to Blue city since each cities have different budgetary priorities given for public schools. These assumptions are, however, rife with fallacies and the arguement presented by the author is significantly weakened due to three reasons.

To begin with, a good education in public schools can't be realized merely by spending a lot of money; the allocation of budget requires a timely execution of right amount of money on the right resources. It is possible that the budget is spent on increasing the salary of higher ups in the schools, providing more benefits to the management teams, and used recklessly on entertainment of staffs such as picnics, tours, and parties. A poor utilization of any amount of budget may not be able to ensure a good education in the schools. A higher expenditure of budget may not be the true indication of providign good education in public schools: The author's argument of Parson city giving a greater emphasis on good education in public schools compared to Blue city, therefore, does not hold water because of above reasons.

Furthermore, the public schools in both cities might be in an entirely different conditions -- one may be already lavish with all kinds of facilities right off the bat whereas the other one could still be in a developing phase. If one of the public schools in either cities is significantly different from the other schools, then it would obviously affect the proportion of budget required to be allocated by the respective cities. The author's argument does not have enough evidence to support their idea, thereby weakening the overall argument.

In addition to this, apart from the monetary aspects, quality of education also matters a lot which is dependent on several factors such as the quality of teachers, content of syllabus being taught to the students, allocation of appropriate resources for overall development of students and many more. However, the above argument presented by the author is vague and does not clarify such imperative aspects of education in public schools in either of the cities being discussed. There is potential for one of the cities to provide well trained and educated teachers or design a competitive syllabus to uplift the overall standard of students in their public schools. This suggests that the author's arguement is severely flawed.

Based on above arguments, it is evident that the assertion made by author does not hold water and is based on flawed assumptions. It is essential to evaluate other factors associated with the quality of education in public schools of both cities and more evidence is required to make any concrete statements.