"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

The author of the argument concludes that Parson City residents consider providing a better education in public shools than Blue City residents do. However, that conclusion is based on a number of inadequately supported assumptions. Without further information, we do not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the author’s conclusion is valid.

To begin the argument, the author claims that the Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. However that evidence relies on the assumption the same population means the same number of students. There are numerous other factors that have not been taken into account. For example, perhaps Parson City has more residents that go to Kindergarten- twelfth grade. Therefore, they might need to put a bigger budget on public schools. If that’s the case,the claim of inequity in the money spend for public education can be called into question. On the other hand,if the author were to provide a more comprehensive list of factors how funds are distributed then the claim of superiority would be more convincing. Without a more comprehensive list of factors that have been compared, we cannot fully evaluate the claim of inequity in funding as evidence that Parson City places a higher value on education.

Another weakness in the argument is that the region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. Here the author is assuming that different cities put more expenses than the others to public schools. Without information on the composition of schools population like students that come from low income families, students that belong to special education or those that are ELL , the author is relying on the unsupported assumption that some cities give more priority to education in public schools. Perhaps, knowing the percentage of different populations and the years of experience of teachers in these schools than the evidence would be more credible. Without more detailed information about the structure of schools’ population and percentage of funding division we are not able to fully evaluate how it supports the conclusion.

One more spurious claim is that the majority of money spent on public schools comes from taxes that each city government collects .Here the author is assuming that the city collects the taxes and these taxes go for schooling. Unfortunately, there is not enough detail to reasonably conclude that the city will get the tax payments from its residents. Maybe taxes go to the government and not to the city and the budget is made up from different sources, then the author is mistaking correlation for causation.

Ultimately, unless the assumptions are addressed, the author’s argument that Parson City residents have put public education on a higher priority than Blue city residents have, fails to be convincing.