The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; seve ral well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would argument concludes that a jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. However, that conclusion is based on a number of inadequately supported assumptions. Without further information about this jazz club being the only one in the area and jazz music being popular, we do not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the author’s conclusion is valid.

To begin the argument, the small business that is applying for a loan, claims that a new jazz club would have the local market all to itself because the nearest club is 60 miles from there. In other words, they think chances to get the customers are considerably big. It is possible that other powerful investors may build or open another jazz club not far from there-perhaps earlier than that. Further, there is a possibility that the club in distance is in its best time and might not lose any audience. If either of these scenarios are worth then the conclusion of profit in the main argument is weakened.

Secondly, the author claims that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe. The opponents in this argument assume that over 100,000 people that attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer are a good reason for success. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps these people came for the festival from many distant cities and that’s why they might not be a potent indicator that jazz in Monroe is popular. In an ideal world, many people may love jazz, but the reality is such that they cannot do so due to other preferences or distances, then is no garanty jazz is loved by Monroe people. If the above is true, the argument is not valid.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed because is relying on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to argument the two claims above and offer more evidence then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation of opening a jazz club in Monroe.