It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves

Living in nowadays interconnected human society, it is hard to just construe a person as a single unit regardless of his or her role in any form of society. Thus, I agree with the statement saying that we primarily define ourselves through social groups.

Since we were born, we have been considered as parents’ children, someone’s brothers or sisters, says, we are deeply mounted into a net connecting with parents and relatives, and what we have done are all related to gain the recognition from other members. For example, we are said to be great sons and daughters, we are hoped to become great peers, we are supposed to put piety as a priority, all these things are what we have been trying to achieve to build the identification with the family.

After we have become adults and started to work for corporates, we started to build our own families, we are all suffered from the roles the society hopes we can be. For instance, we should do great parenting, we should be productive employees or ambitious executives; the list can go on and on, and human usually let these things define us, mostly it is because of that if we reach these goals, we are right fitted into the society, and human is a social creature, we always think that being in a social group is the only thing that matters.

However, some might contend that it is also crucial for us to find our own identities, says, we have different personalities, we have different habits, we have different preferences of tastes, …… All indicates that we are all different, we should not let the society to define what we are. Though it sounds convincing, the thing which we should acknowledge is that while we are all different, we still live together in society, no matter it is a family or a larger social group. Others’ opinions shape what we are, and it is the thing that builds the complex human society, says, in order to become a member of human society, we still need to get recognition from others, which means, let society define ourselves.

All in all, though it is also important to scrutinize a person inside-out to find his or her own identity, I believe it is that we primarily find our identification within any format of social groups.