In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

From the survey of Manson city, it is stated, that for the increment of the water sports like swimming, boating, and fishing": government should devote more money to riverside area for the recreational activities, as it is said, it has announced plans to clean up Mason River. They have come to this conclusion after the survey, which was done among Residents of mason city. Although the cited evidence seems logical, but the assumption on which conclusions relies do not lend credible support to the argument, so before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

firstly, what, if, the number of people surveyed are not representative group? In simple terms, may be the people who are only interested on water sports are surveyed: It is possible that people who are interested on other sports besides water sports are not surveyed - perhaps, if this true, the result may be different. if the either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly undermined.

In addition to this, are the questions of survey program are related to other sports than water sports? In other words, the questions may be related to only water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing); Without knowing about the questionnaire, it cannot be assumed that many people are keen on water sports only. May be people cannot answer about the other sports due to the question of survey, which may only relate to water sports. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Lastly, by announcing the plan to clean the river, will it be sure that this plan will be effectively carried out. Simply, it is only plan, which is not, ye, carried out, so it would be presumptuous, to devote money in the riverside area by assuming the increment in water sports after cleaning of the river. This may not happen, as it has been said. Hence, there is no evidence for the aforementioned question, which eventually weakens the author's claim.

In a conclusion, the argument, as it is stands, now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to evaluate the validity of the proposed recommendation to devote money to the riverside area .