Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

According to the prompt, increasing number of people are relying on optional medicines and treatments in spite of consulting their regular doctors to solve their health issues. In my opinion, this is a mostly a negative development for two reasons. however, there is one significant advantage that will be further discussed below.

First of all, using medicine by own concern is dangerous because it harms our different vital organs as well as deteriorate the proper functioning of our body, if consumed unknowingly. For example, my neighbor took a lot of paracetamols to soothe her headache, but as a result of overdose, it had disbalance her kidney function. In addition, people residing in rural area of Nepal and India now also uses a superstitious or traditional method of treatments to overcome their health problems. It is clearly an adverse trend because we cannot identify actual disease without visiting doctor. Moreover, this process is leading the many people to lose their life in young age.

Secondly, applying self-made therapeutics and medicine is disadvantageous, as it is declining the value of doctors. For instance, when someone get injured in our community people motivate to apply their own ointment, despite of visiting doctors. Therefore, doing these doctors are unable to treat patient and getting low emphasis by us and are being neglected in our society. Hence, due to this activity of people, the prestige of most important doctor is falling down, nowadays.

However, the treatments used by various people have one advantage: the preservation of medicinal plants. For example, they cultivate mint, ginger and other crop based on their medicinal value as mint can be used for good digestion. In nutshell, production of such herbs could be effective and crucial to manufacture medicine in future.

In conclusion, use of optional medicine and treatments is primarily a negative thing for two reasons outlined above. Nevertheless, it is somehow positive aspect too as it helps in the protection of valuable medicinal crops.