“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

In a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics' magazine, it is stated that, they should invest their resources in unmanned space flight. They have come to this conclusion based on the issue they have been facing due to the use of Manned space flight, which is costly and dangerous. Although, the cited evidence seems logical and probable, but the assumption on which it relies do not lend support to argument, so before this recommendation cam be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the cost associated to invent the Unmanned space flight. In simple words, is it probable to assume the same cost for the development of this space flight as manned space flight? It is possible the cost requires to invent this space flight may be different - perhaps, manned space flight can be developed in low price than another. As well as, due to the high cost required for unmanned space flight, there may be rejection to invest resources for unmanned space flight. If either of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly undermined.

In addition to this, does the reliability of data or information gained by both space flight same. In simple terms, can the data gathered by one space flight more accurate than another space flight: It may not happen like this. The accuracy of data may vary. May be the data which is received by manned space flight is more reliable and is more accurate than that of unmanned space flight, so, as result, manned space flight can be given more emphasis than unmanned space flight: In order to reduce risk of manned space flight, they may invest their resources to increase the quality of the manned space flight. If the above is true, then the argument doesn't hold water.

Lastly, though, it does not have any risk while sending the men and women on the space. is it appropriate to assume only due to this reason, they are free of risk? In other words, what, if, manned space flight is more dangerous while coming back from space than going to the space, so without answer to this question, they may have doubt and they may dissuade to invest in another space flight - unmanned space flight. Hence, there is no evidence for the aforementioned question, which eventually weakens the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption; If the author is able to answer the aforementioned three question and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to invest the resources in unmanned space flight.