Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and Development

Scientific research and development play an important role in the development of any country. It helps any country to gain their power in international economic stage. However, we cannot neglect a fact that every good thing has its bad effect also and It depends upon us, how we are using them. Due to modern self-centered thinking of humans, restriction on Scientific research and development becomes necessary. Now people can go to any extreme to fulfill their personal requirements. So, i would say that the government should put restrictions on scientific research and development.

We know about the benefits of nuclear energy and recent development in this field created a new option to generate power. In this way we can save our limited nonrenewable energy sources and it can help us to control pollution produced by other sources of energy like coal etc. But in the same time we cannot forget about the tragedy happened during Hiroshima and Nagasaki nuclear explosion. Although it is very useful for humans but if it will be use in a wrong way it will create tragedy.

We are also aware of research and development in animal cloning and now scientists are trying to create human baby in their lab. Successful research will give a lot of benefits to society. Couples who cannot have their own baby can rely and fulfill their dream using this kind of research. But meantime we cannot neglect the fact that it is dangerous also if it will be used in a wrong way. Suppose some group of researchers started creating human baby in the lab and they started human trafficking to gain money so that they can fulfill their personal desire. So, in this case this kind of research will provoke various crimes.

To sum up, I would say that the government should put restrictions on Scientific research and development so that it can be only used for good intention otherwise it will act like a devil to our society. It is government responsibility to put restriction on those things so that it can not go into the hands of morally degraded people.