The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement a

The nation can be considered great only when it provides good services and facilities to citizen to ensure either they are happy or not. Only achievements achieve by the rulers, artists or scientists doesn't make the country reputation great or higher in the eye of people, so basically, I agree with the above statement that country can be great-when it consider the people's welfare. As we know that there is a huge achievement achieve by many countries in history; but have we ever thought if they were for the welfare of people or something else. Since, if we looked over the history of many countries' ancestors have always fight with opponent for the good life of their people. Therefore, this statement can be further clarified by following supportive examples.

The happiness of people depends on the different aspects of their life like social, economic, cultural. People have many rights and without being able to use those rights people cannot be happy. For example, the great man Abraham Lincoln-who was the president of United states have made the nation great not only by achieving his goals, but he has done a lot of struggles to end the slavery and created the possibility of social and civil freedom for African Americans. As a result, he works for the welfare of the people and made the nation great by recognizing him as a famous hero who worked for the welfare of people.

Besides these all, a nation is determined by its people. If the political leaders didn't pay attention toward its people and overlooked over their rights; there will be a violence or protest toward government by the citizen because they will not care about their nation dignity because without their happiness and satisfaction, the achievement of political leaders become worthless for them. Hence, along with the achievements if politician leaders and scientists considered the good things for people then only nation can be declared great.

Lastly, it is not true that all scientific invention engenders only beneficial goods. For example, industries, factories and locomotive wastes and smokes pollute the air leading to acid rain, global warming and depletion of ozone layer which have led to serious pollution and degradation of human environment as well as have negative impact on human health: Not only this nowadays, but people also use technology as a weapon for illegal activities, so one should be concerned about the impact of such invention on the users.

Thus, the well-being of a nation is directly related to the well-being and welfare of its people who constitute the nation. The greatness of a nation cannot be determined by a handful of people who have gained popularity and fame because of their achievements in the field of science and technology or politics.