Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve

It is controversial to conclude whether government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve or officials should pass a judgment based on their own decision. The following essay will seek to find the advantages and a limitation of each contention for some reasons and agree with the later one.

Admittedly, In some circumstances, it would be better for government officials to follow the will of the people whom they serve since we live in a democratic society. In the democratic regime, people have a right to elect their representatives, and elected representatives should serve people and follow the will of the people for the sake of people. As all know, ordinary people have a common sense and general experience to decide properly in most situations. It is well illustrated in the examples such as the antiwar movements and other kinds of civil movements.

However, it might not be the case in certain circumstances. In specific cases, government officials who are picked up through a competitive procedure can decide which policies are better for the nation and people. As we do not let our lives depend on a novice doctor, people do not want their decision related to their lives to be determined by just normal people. For example, policies of diplomacy and economy can entail a prolonged impact on society. These kinds of things should be considered including all aspects of society. Thus, it may be better to be determined by government officials who are knowledgeable in the field.

Furthermore, government officials can set the direction of the society to the betterment of human beings. However, ordinary citizens are easy to make a policy related to their imminent situation such as poverty, unemployment, or improvement of their living standard. But, it is necessary to pursue a policy that is not emergent but also important to human beings. For example, the issue of global warming is a huge problem for all nations. In most countries, people do not pay enough attention to greenhouse gases emission than to the cheap price of a product. Thus, government officials should pass a valid decision that considers the effect of the present as well as the future.

Consequently, if government officials just follow the will of the people they serve, it could result in myopic decisions in some situations. In some cases, well-trained and experienced officials might be a better person to have a responsibility to decide an important policy.