Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

In a democracy, an expectation is generally held that elected officials serve the people. However, some people put forth that government officials should rely on their own judgement, rather than carry out the will of the people they serve without question. In truth, the answer likely lies somewhere in-between these views. The people that elected--if this is a democractic scenario--the official have a right to see their views carried out. If a official was to only follow their individual judgement and ignore the people's, that would likely lead to disapprobation from the people. However, the government official should also able to judge situations fairly, especially if they serve a populace of mixed view points.

A government official may have a very different view than the people he or she serves. For example, a president may have conservative views but perhaps the people of his country are more liberal. This scenario is somewhat unlikely, since usually a liberal populace elects a liberal president. However, what is more common is that roughly half the populace may be conservative and half liberal. In that case, the government official has a duty to a variety of different people and their will. Everyone is his or her country is important, yet the official cannot carry out every person's will. In this case, a official must exercise their own judgement.

However, while using their own judgement they should be considering the will of the people. The official cannot go with their own individual opinion alone and disregard the people's. They should consider the populaces opinions thoughtfully and then come to a conclusion. To ignore the populace and carry out what the official deems the right way will create ill feeling. For example, the Pew Research Center conducted a survey in early 2019 that concluded that 75 percent of people in the United States has declining trust in the government. There was a multitude of reasons mentioned, and one was officials not listening to the people they represent.

In conclusion, government officials must walk a delicate tightrope of listening to the people and also making their own judgements. When it comes down to it, an official is there to serve the people who elected them. Yet, if they represent people with divergent views they must also be ready to make decisions based on their own individual judgement.