CLAIM Young people s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills REASON These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than ful

Forming interpersonal connections is apparently an integral part of human activities. Socializing allows us to live a healthy life in a number of ways. Electronic devices such as smartphones, computers, and tablets have aided communication rather than hampering it and there are a multitude of reasons that support this idea. According to the presented claim, the advent of these so-called deleterious gadgets has caused a negative effect on the soft skill development of youngsters. It comes with the reasoning that these devices do not promote the formation of true personalities and long-lasting relationships. However, I strongly disagree with the claim due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, smartphones and computers allow us to connect with people who are far from us and have various cultures and languages. This gives the young generation an opportunity to gain knowledge about things they cannot learn from their surroundings. For example, in North Korea, students are widely brainwashed by government propaganda through highly censored textbooks. The internet has proved to be a boon in this scenario since with the introduction of video conferencing to the general public, it has become easier for the students to acculturate to new environments. It is possible that the immediate neighbors or classmates are narrow-minded or in other words, limited in outlook. In this case, it becomes imperative to look at other options otherwise personality development will be profoundly hindered.

Second, gone are the times when communication via phone was limited to texting or voice calling. Video conferencing allows the face-to-face interpersonal exchange of views which is not only more interactive but also salubrious for the development of expression and speech skills. Therefore, there is no doubt that in the future the potential of such gadgets will only increase.

Thirdly, engaging fully and honestly does not preclude the requirement of phones. The claim and reason are based on several unwarranted assumptions. In the present age, many meetings and business deals are concluded online, thus, probably with the use of phones, tablets, or computers. This has not only made the logistics of the situation effective but cheaper. It cuts out unnecessary time wasted during transit and preparation of many official documents, thus, allowing time for business persons to collaborate more with their peers and thereby promoting the growth of their communication skills. Because of video conferencing, it has become possible for people sitting far apart possible in remote areas to contact people on the mainland. This seriously undermines the claim presented.

In conclusion, although many people will disfavor the use of smartphones and related gadgets as effective means of developing better relationships, there is a lack of evidence supporting this line of thought. The reason could be better supported if the author could provide more facts, perhaps in the form of systematized studies. Phones and tablets are inherently meant to support communication and personality development. People who overlook this idea are probably those who have witnessed youngsters either misusing gadgets or rare individuals with great personalities that have spurned the use of gadgets. Therefore, anyone who rejects the hidden potential of phones as a salutary way to improve interpersonal skills does so at his/her own peril.