People who make decisions based on emotions and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

Decisions indirectly affect our life, some in a minor way while others in a profound manner. It can range from following a healthy routine (such as regular exercise and salutary eating habits) to making life-settling decisions (such as investing wisely in real estate or choosing a supportive life partner). In the latter scenario, it is not inherently viable to solely act based on our emotions, and thus, trenchant analysis becomes imperative to decide whether the considered choice is rational or not. If not, then one must gird his or her loins for facing dire consequences. Therefore, I mostly agree with the statement for three reasons.

First, emotions can be damaging to a reputation. For example, if a political leader orders the armed forces to attack another nation, perhaps because of a random fit of anger, can lead to bitter relations and even long-lasting belligerence. Later, justifying the emotional outburst with a poorly backed logic is neither feasible nor praisable. Therefore, it is not okay to justify emotions with logic afterward.

Second, gut feelings are not necessarily always right. For example, in a situation involving investment in the stock markets, the consistent rise in the valuation of a company does not implicate that the firm will continue to make higher profits in the future. The idea is that the world is highly unpredictable and what our instinct might suggest does not guarantee successful results. If this is true, it significantly strengthens the statement presented.

Third, emotions can be influenced by the surrounding environment. A person’s milieu plays a key role in modulating his or her thought process. The presence of highly motivating or profoundly depressing peers in his or her social circles can drastically affect the ability to act rationally. On one hand, a business person will be more willing to take unnecessary risks while on the other, he or she will be circumspect and reluctant to invest money to expand his empire. Therefore, analysis becomes important before making decisive choices.

In conclusion, although many people are driven by emotions and seemingly exploit them while making day-to-day choices, it will be a mistake to not act rationally and consider all the nuances that may influence negative or even devastating ramifications. People who ignore the insidious effects of poorly made and emotionally backed decisions are both improvident and imprudent and do so at their own peril.