Super Screen movie

Essay topics

In the memo, the director of SS Movie Production Company has advocated in favor of expanding the reach of their movies by planning to allocate more funds on an advertisement campaign. He or she came to this decision on the basis a discrepancy between the positive reviews published by critics and a diminishing number of customers. However, the decision is based upon many unwarranted assumptions that if false would seriously undermine the argument. Therefore, three questions need to be answered before the validity of the argument could be fully evaluated.

First, are the reviewers unbiased towards the movies? It is possible that the authors that praised Super Screen movies have been influenced by the previous works. Perhaps the content in the movies is not original, which is something that can be despised by a significant number of prospective consumers. For instance, parody movies are consumed and praised more by those who have had previously watched the movie on which the work is based. On the other hand, the unaware public tends to push such content to the side. In addition, the director has not specified the total number of critic. If five critics out of twenty, drop positive reviews, the percentage would be tantamount to 100% but this is not representative of the entire critic community. If this is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Second, is the public interested in paying attention to advertisements? Perhaps a majority of movie-goers are influenced by the quality of trailers and word of mouth. Many individuals might get annoyed or get if an extensive ad campaign is launched. In additions, with the advent of AdBlocker, an extension for web browsers, many firms have witnessed diminishing revenues. Perhaps due to this fact, SS Movie Company would be forced to push their ads on radio, newspapers or other conventional non-electronic media. Owing to the fact that the youth are predisposed to use the internet and electronic media up to a greater extent, this approach is highly likely to fail. The argument would be significantly weakened if any of the above circumstances turn out to be true.

Third, would the quality of movies remain better if they allocate more budget on marketing? It might be possible that the company would fail to attract great actors and personalities owing to limited amount of money that the company would be left to offer them. In addition, with the fluctuation in the prices of commodities, film making technologies can get expensive. For instance, recently, the world has witness a shortage of semiconductors and by the same token, camera costs have skyrocketed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is seriously flawed owing to the unfounded assumptions that the director has made. Perhaps if more supporting evidence is provided through detailed surveys (or well-designed scientific studies), the decision could be rendered more viable.