To reverse a decline in listener numbers our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock music format The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here

According to the memorandum, the manager has proposed to change the current rock-music format followed by the WWAC radio station to a news and talk format to increase the listening population. The manager came to this conclusion based on the fact that despite the number of residents in the area having increased, the number of listeners has reduced. However, before the validity of the argument could be properly evaluated, three questions need to be answered.

First, are the retired people interested or able to listen to WWAC radio station? It might be possible that retired citizens have been listening to another radio station their entire life. In this scenario, their habits have become so entrenched that the individuals do not pay heed to other radio stations and stick to their old favorites despite the variation in the quality of content offered. Moreover, it might be that due to their age, retired individuals are suffering from ailments that impair their hearing ability. This condition precludes them from using the radio as a source of entertainment and information. If this is true, then the argument will be significantly undermined.

Second, are the number of residents the only factor affecting the number of listeners? It is likely that the radio station is not following regular and effective advertisement regimes that are ostensibly done by the other contemporary radio stations as an effort to increase market share. Moreover, the current listeners could be recluses who do not socialize with fellow humans. In this case, the word-of-mouth way of gaining popularity diminished profoundly. If this is true, then the argument would be rendered weak.

Third, will the number of local listeners remain the same if the station changes its rock-music format? It is possible that the consumers of existing rock music, after the change in the format, stop following the radio station. Moreover, the demographics of a region are variable and thus the tastes of the population concerning music and arts can change drastically with time. In this scenario, predicting growth based on serving what is popular ‘now’ is not an ideal way to succeed. If this is true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, although the author might have come to a sound conclusion, many unwarranted assumptions have been made. More facts need to be presented, perhaps in the form of detailed surveys (or systematic scientific studies) to support the argument. The soundness of the proposal could be fully evaluated if the manager could answer the above three questions.