Super Screen movie

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company proposes to allocate a greater percentage of budget to advertising, claiming that this would help increase the amount of people attending Super Screen produced movies. He believes this because during the past year fewer people than ever before went to Super Screen movies, yet a larger proportion of positive reviews was received. Ostensibly the extra advertising would tout the positive reviews and thus attract more audiences. A series of questions, however, need to be addressed about the possible flaws before the plan is implemented.

In the first place, the company needs to ask what the actual number of reviews is because a decrease in the total number of reviews will itself lead to larger percentage of positive reviews, even if the number of positive reviews remains the same or even declines. If this is the case, it would be unreasonable to regard this as a supporting evidence of the movies’ high quality.

Even if indeed more positive reviews than before were received, we still cannot conclude that the movies are of good qualities. On the contrary, it could actually be an evidence of poor qualities. Perhaps lots of people did not go to see a Super Screen-produced movies because they saw one before and it was unsatisfactory. And those who still attend the new movies are the people who really enjoy movies made by Super Screen for some reasons. Then there is no wonder why they will give positive feedback. Therefore, customer surveys should be conducted to investigate the real opinions of customers and to see if quality problems present.

In addition, no evidence is given to support the argument of public's lack of awareness. It is entirely possible that people are well informed of Super Screen and its movies but they are just not interested, which again indicates problems of movie qualities. The company could again distribute surveys to its target audiences to gain first-hand information of their preferences.

The current advertising strategies should be looked at carefully, for example, what media are used, the content of the advertisements, when are the ads being shown, etcetera. Since even though the advertising was indeed not effective, it would not necessarily due to lack of funds. Perhaps sufficient funds were allocated but the ways or channels of advertising are inappropriate, or advertisements were targeted to wrong groups of people. If this is the case, then what Super Screen should do is not to allocate more funds, but to improve it marketing strategies.

In conclusion, there are many questions Super Screen needs to answer before using this advertising director’s plan. They need to look carefully at actual number of reviews, both positive and negative. They also need to determine how its audiences feel about the movies and what they would like to see. Finally they need to take a nuanced look at the advertising strategies adopted currently.