The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school’s all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president of Grove College proposes that coeducation should be adopted to attract applications and increase enrollment, citing the fact that other all-female colleges which started admitting men have an increase in applications. However, the director of the alumnae association objects the plan, arguing that the majority of students and alumnae hold that all-female tradition should be reserved, supported by two surveys results. Though at first glance both of them seem quite convincing, close scrutiny reveals flaws in their arguments.

At the first place, the president attributes the increase of applicants in other all-female colleges to the adoption of coeducation while no evidence is given to support this. It is entirely possible that other factors, such as improved campus infrastructures, higher education quality etcetera contribute to the increase of applicants. Even if the increase is resulted from the provision of coeducation, there is no assurance that Grove College will get the same results as those colleges. After all, there could be many differences among colleges and these differences could significantly influence the impact on Grove College of admitting men. Therefore, the true reasons why increase of applicants was witnessed in other colleges, differences between Grove College and those colleges and how these differences will impact Grove’s adopting coeducation should be considered.

In terms of the director of alumnae association, his argument is based on dubious survey results. The first survey appears to indicate that incoming students all apply to Grove College for its all-female status. However, the number of subjects is unclear. If only a few incoming students were asked, then this result could not represent all the newcomers. Even if a sufficient number of them were interviewed, the result is still not representative because other students’ opinions were ignored.

The result of the second survey -- “a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all-female” is not persuasive as well. Firstly, the phrase “a majority of” is equivocal. Consider if there are only three respondents, then two would be the majority. Secondly, a majority of respondents does not necessarily equals to a majority of alumnae. Perhaps many of the alumnae who are in favor of coeducation did not respond. Therefore, the sample size, methods, and quantified results of the surveys should be provided.

Lastly, even if it is true that most students and alumnae prefer the all-female tradition, there could be other ways to help reserve it. For instance, Grove College could limit the number of males admitted, provide special courses for females and the like. Ruling out men’s admission is not necessarily the only way to preserve its identity of all-female education.

In conclusion, statements of both the president and the director are untenable and more investigation is needed to determine whether coeducation would be beneficial to Grove College. There are also other means it could take to increase its applications and enrollment.