74. The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this article, the director of the alumnae association of Grove College recommends that the college should keep its century-old tradition of all-female education. Although the recommendation may seem convincing at first, the lack of answers leads me to conclude that the argument is invalid on many grounds.

First, the director should answer whether the identity of the college could be changed over time or not. The director assumes that its essential identity could not be changed and because all-female education is its fundamental identity, the director recommends that the college shou...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.