The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the alumnae association repudiates the plan of converting all-female Grove College into a coeducation which was recommended by the president of the college. The director’s opposition was fortified by few surveys of the incoming students and the alumnae but these reasons are not enough to support his proposal. Seeing the alarming benefits and deeds coeducation provides to the society, the director needs strong claims and evidences and not just few vague surveys.

He cited that the surveys of the incoming students agreed to the fact that they chose Grove College because of being an all-female college. But how many of these students reported this statement, how many total incoming students were actually admitted, what were their reasons to favour an all-female college, etc. such questionnaires are important to conclude a rationality for them to favour the passé tradition.

The director says it is essential to keep Grove College all-female college, but he never gave any proper reasons to bolster his belief. To prove himself right, he could atleast provide the negatives and drawbacks of converting it into coeducation. The president gave his own reasons and threw light upon the benefits of converting into coeducation likewise if the director summons some of his belief of shunning the idea of the change, the report and his recommendation could have been considered.

A survey of the alumnae also was included stating that they favoured all-female college but none of the majority alumnae placated their reasons for rejecting the proposition of coeducation. The society outside the college is a mixture of male and female, we have to learn to coexist with a different sex, this the alumnae must have encountered and felt the need to have an early education of this practice but instead they encourage for no change to be brought in the old-traditions of Grove College, this is rather irrational and abstruse.

Hence, the report and the suggestion offered by the director in accordance to the hindrance towards a change seem vague and dubious. Strong reasons and facts are required to consider his opposition towards this change. Till then, overlooking and ignoring the fact of changing into coeducation mustn’t be encouraged.