The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions

The argument speaks of strenghtening the forces at the boaders of the nation to prevent any trepassing of illegal immigrants who can threthen both economy and nationality. Hence, the solution to avoid such threats is to send those illegal immigrants back to their nation of origin. The argument poses strong point and concern for keepin the nation safe and sound but his allegation and solutions do not convince the argument much. He does not provide any incidents or evidences that prove the guilty and thrats of these illegal immigrants. He claims to secure the boarders and check with an hawk-eye for the illagal enteries and casts a solution of returning the immigrants without any proper reasons and validation for the same.

Firstly, his assumption of making the boarders the sole criteria to depict strength is vague because not all illegal immigrants enter a nation from its boaders alone. Many can pose to be aristocrat and enter by flight into the heart of the nation. Hence, checking should be vigilant in all the sectors where any immigrants enter the nation and not just on the assumed routes. Mostly, victims of a nation in attempt to survive cross the limits of its nation and land itself in its neighboring country. It will be inhuman act to return these victims back to the death bed of their origin. Hence, it is necessary to check every aspect of the immigrants before tagging them as illegal and sending them back.

Secondly, he assumes that the illegal immigrants can hinder and cause threath to the economy and nationality of the country but he does not provide any evidences or facts to fortify his views. In what way could they threathen these vital factors of a nation, does every immigrants pose such threats, which category of immigrants are termed as illegal to be viewed with such suspecions? The author did not give any norms and protocol to follow to distingusih these immigrants as illegal from legal. His statement is vague and is based on old-school assumptions which may not be true in every case.

Lastly, his recommendation to the solution of returning back the immigrants back to their origin also lacks proper reasoning. Many enter out of need and as last resort to survive, will it not be aganist the mankind to send them back without trying to know their cause of entering another country, on what basis should these immigrants be treated as illegal and send them back. The autho fails to provide any concrete facts and statements to strengthen his view. He has based his argument on petty assumptions and vague facts. Hence it is better to corroborate on such delicate matters with in-dept discussion before concluding any solutiona and measures for the same.