The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The report claims to be an innovative treatment for eradicating or reducing absenteeism from schools and workplaces. This measure was built on a study report nearby East Meria where the consumption of fish by the residents is high. They assumed that due the high consumption rate of fish in the area people suffer less from cold and visit occasionally to a doctor. The study leads the author to think the remedy for less common cold is due to fish in the diets of the habitats and suggest the use of Ichthaid, a nutritional fish oil derivative as a treatment for reducing the absentees from school and workplace. The report appears vague and less researched over before hoping down to such remedy.

Firstly, absences from work and schools can be for various different reasons, sickness and health issues are one of the common excuse that is easily proposed. The report does not mention any survey or observation or any records that significantly suggest that the majority reason is cold in both schools and workplace. There was no mention of the cause of cold or any other diseases which concludes vaguely that the place near East Meria only suffers cold for the entire year. There is no mention of the time of the year when this insignificant number of people actually visits the doctor. Because cold always doesn’t require an assistance of doctor, maybe there are many cases of cold but they go unreported by a doctor.

Secondly, only fish eating people do not suffer from cold according to the report does not indicate that the place does not have any vegan or vegetarian family residing in Meria. There is no report or survey of the number of people actually consumes fish and the frequency. The age group of the people who visited the doctor has no light on them too. The report lacks important facts and evident to assure that consumption fish is the only remedy to treat cold in their area.

Thirdly, use of Ichthaid will have same effect as a fish did on people have no fortification to it. There is no mention of what type of fish do the people consume, because each fish has different nutritional value and importance hence the fish oil depends in depth research before being prescribed to the people of East Meria. A comparison study of the people of east meria and nearby place would also throw some light on the use of fish oil on various subjects suffering from cold.

The report does not provide strong evidence and facts to bolster its suggestion to reduce absentees. The innovative treatment could prove to be fruitful only to a certain number of populations as it is unknown that how many actually consume fish and are ready to consume daily fish oil. The treatment is not universal to every man and hence action in favour to it is not applicable at this point.