The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces A study reports that in nearby East M

The author of this argument makes the statement that daily use of Ichthaid could prevent colds and lower absenteeism in West Meria. However, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to start such a program.

First, the arguer’s recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between West Meria and East Meria. How similar are these two areas is a question that need to be answered. The analogy incorrectly depends on the assumption that residents in West Meria and East Meria are similar, but it is highly possible that residents in two areas has different lifestyle. For instance, people in East Meria may be poorer and usually not willing to pay for Vitamins tablets, which makes them need to eat more fish to attain necessary Vitamins, while individuals in West Meria may usually take Vitamins tablets which contains Ichthaid every day. Definitely, if there is evidence on such difference, the argument would be weakened.

Second, even if residents in two areas are quite similar, the author need to answer how to identify the causal relationship between Ichthaid consumption and preventing colds. The author observes a correlation between fish consumption and avoiding colds, but fails to build a rightful causal relationship between them. It is highly possible that other omitted factors contribute to preventing colds. For instance, perhaps East Meria has a warmer climate. This would make people in East Meria less likely to have cold, as well as attracting more fish and make fish consumption cheaper. It is also possible that government in East Meria introduced some policy that encourage people to exercises more often. Even if there is evidence that fish consumption could preventing colds, the author still needs to provide more evidence that it is Ichthaid, rather than other nutritional supplement, has prevented colds.

Third, the author mentioned a study that stated people in East Meria hardly visit doctors for colds. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of that study. The conclusion of that study may derived from a survey which just asked a small group of people. Unless the study is fully representative, valid, and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back the author's argument.

In conclusion, the author wrongly compares residents in West Meria and East Meria, assuming questionable causal relationship and quoted a study which may not valid or reliable. All these questions need to be answered in order to better evaluate the recommendation.