"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The opinion states that to prevent exorbitant spending on manned space flight which is also risky should be less practiced instead unmanned resources be sent that is more cheap and also collects decent amount of information too. The opinion is based on few success rates of unmanned missions and vague consideration of the process of collecting information. It is true that space missions are risky be it manned or unmanned it has the equal amount of risks associated with it but completely favouring unmanned resources will not provide every drop of information of the outer surrounding. The letter claims that a series of the unmanned missions have provided with large amount of information at low cost and risk which is not entirely true for every mission.

The main advantage the space aeronaunts get when they launch a manned mission is that they get get proper pristine data about the outer world. There years of studies and research will allow them to bring home informations that a well equipped machined can. Suppose a manned Mission was launched to planet Mars, the scientits will get home the information has what type of soil is found in there, how different the surrounding is from the earth, how old could the groves and the rocks are, the water found is it same as that of earth,etc. These informations will be real and more valuable in studing and bringing into thesis and theories of space. A unmanned mission will only get pictures but not such detailed information.

It is assumed that sending unmanned mission is of low risk and cost, but if we do not want any negligence and compromise in the amount of informations, the probes and the satellites need to be made of high quality and equipment which might cost even more than a manned mission. Sometimes it is possible that the satellite will stop resonding and connection might be lost just like it happened in the recent mission of Chandrayan 2 launched by India. In such scenario, it is not relevant to completely trust and be reliable on these satellites and space probes.

In a space mission, bith amnned and unmanned missions are equally important depending on the goal of the mission, searching signs of life can be best done by manned missions and certain electrical and surrounding information of planets can be entrustred on unmanned probes and satellites.

Therefore, the opinion of completely investing in the unmanned missions wll lead to loss of many various of informations which is not viable for the space study. Both cost and come with equal risks hebnce it is wrong to shun the manned missions and favour only the unmanned missions.