The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The author depicts that to gain knowledge for oneself, it is important that we repudiate the common usual notions of the society and the surrounding. The knowledge we gather from our close vicinity only provides the minimal and the regular facts, but the world is limited to such minimalistic reach; it is vast and expands beyond territories of man and so is the art of knowledge. It is vital and necessary to step out of the comfort zone of familiarity in order to expand our wisdom and knowledge. It can be illustrated by some humble examples.

A student who is good at studies will by obvious reasons focus and incline more towards it, spending hours of day in books and informations about minute stuffs. Some book worms reach out to books even if the matter is of common sense; it is because they restricted their talents within the papers and writings instead than discovering themselves from the living resources. They can never feel the beauty of a flower blossoming beacuse they have only seen it in pictures and images and have memorised their scientific process. their knowledge is limited to bookish ideas and what people have interpreted from their own visual observations, they follow the known norms of the society to look for any answer is only in books.

The scientific field is repleted with facts and examples of how most eminent novel laurets shunned the norms and followed the idea of expanding their knowledge in doing outside their protocols. It is therefore not surprising to see that a biochemistry scientist knows the tricks and methods of a microbiologist. If Sir Alexinder Fleming had discarded the plates seeing a negative result and contamination, today penicillin would have been an evasive term. He crossed his limits of just studing on bacteria, he expanded his reach towards those contamination which gave him a vital discovery known to the man.

It is important to sometimes forget our basic knowledge to indulge in a diversity of information, being a narrow-minded typical Indian in any foreign land like United States or UK will only make us feel home-sick and long for those familiar food. We at the same time will lose the opportunity to enjoy and explore the extravagant diversity of various cusinies. Hence, our knowledge of food is constrained to only our culture and nation, we can never adapt to any other society if we do not cut ties temporarily with the old ancient norms.