The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial: “The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumption prove unwarranted.

The argument that the author makes about the autonomy of country lies on various assumptions such as the strength of the border is the only measure of the country's autonomy, vague about the the number of illegal immigrants, threats which they pose, etc. All these assumptions make the argument weak. Had the author provided us with apt evidences, the argument could be strengthened it. The assumptions are elaborated below.

First and foremost, is the autonomy of a country only be measured by the strength of its borders? it is may also be measured by the efficacy with which it runs the country, how happy people are in the current form of governance, and what all changes should be made in the policies which can make the country excellent place to live. The author of the argument didn't mention about the other factors. Had the author provided us with the proof that other nations only consider the strength of the borders as their sole point of comparison then it would be strengthened. but because of lack of such evidences, the argument is weak.

Secondly, how populated is the country? if it is as populated as China and India are, then probably the country should not allow any more illegal immigrants in the country. but if these immigrants are in hundreds and thousands, then they can be allowed into the country, though they must undergo scrutiny before getting citizen ship of the country. but if the number is in millions, then the country must exercise some control to keep the number in check. As the author hasn't given us the semantics about the population of the country and illegal immigrants, the argument is weakened. Had we been provided us with these evidences, the argument would strengthened.

Next, what are the types of threats these people cause to country? The threats which these illegal denizens can pose to a country are terrorists threats, shortage of food and other resources, and so on. There can be internal quarrels and fights by the immigrants for gaining their rights in the country. As the author fails to give us the list of threats which these illegal immigrants pose to country, thus it weakens the argument. Had the list been provided to us, we would have been able to make better judgement.

In the conclusion, we were unaware about how the country's autonomy is scaled, the population of the country and the illegal immigrants which enter the country and also the threats posed by them. Due to the lack of facts and figures about them the argument is a weak one. Had the author provided more evidences, the argument could be strengthened.