A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the rights to benefit from his or her own labour. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic about hamstringing a person who has committed a crime from using any civil rights or benefits from his or her own labour is a controversial. it depends on a lot of factors such as the cause of committing a crime, type of crime committed and so on. without taking these factors into consideration, we cannot come to any conclusion. I, however, am neutral about this claim and my reasons are elaborated below.

First and foremost, people should be aware about the type of crime committed by a person. if it is a small robbery, or a petty crime committed, the person could be punished and made him or her realised their mistakes. But if it is a heinous act of rape or murder or conning a mob, then the person should be outcast from the society. The person should not be allowed to exercise any of his civil rights and should not be able to take benefits from his or her labour. For example, if a child steals chocolates from a store and if she is caught, then she should be punished and not made a pariah from the society. On the other hand, if a woman kills her friend or a man rapes a woman in a deserted place, then these people should be punished and removed from the society. They should not have any communication or links with the society. Thus, without knowing about the type of crime committed, we cannot close that a person should be treated as an outcast or not.

Secondly, we should also be aware about why the crime was committed. was the crime committed because the person's family was in danger or in self-defense or it was because in a fit of rage, jealousy, envy, etc. For example, in india, a poor farmer had to truncate and sell the oak trees in his backyard to pay for his daughter's marriage. though cutting and selling of oak tress is a crime in india, he had to do it other he would never be able to get his daughter married off to someone. so, he committed a crime knowingly because it was for his family. likewise, if a woman, who is in a situation of being raped, kills the attacker in self-defense, then, it is understandable. Had she not killed him, the person would be threat to her. On the flip side, when people kill their daughter-in-laws for dowry or a brother schemes to murder his own brother, then these convicted people should be destitute from the society.

Next, we must also be aware about when the crime was committed. was the crime committed a planned one or was it instantaneous. because the person's family was in danger or in self-defense or it was because in a fit of rage, jealousy, envy, etc. For example, in india, a poor farmer had to truncate and sell the oak trees in his backyard to pay for his daughter's marriage. though cutting and selling of oak tress is a crime in india, he had to do it other he would never be able to get his daughter married off to someone. so, he committed a crime knowingly because it was for his family. likewise, if a woman, who is in a situation of being raped, kills the attacker in self-defense, then, it is understandable. Had she not killed him, the person would be threat to her. On the flip side, when people kill their daughter-in-laws for dowry or a brother schemes to murder his own brother, then these convicted people should be destitute from the society.

In conclusion I would only say that just because a person has committed a crime doesn't mean that he is wrong and should not be allowed in society. we should also be abreast about the why, what and when of the crime and then decide whether it is justified to the person to make him a pariah to society. without knowledge about them, I think we cannot make an intelligent decision about them.