The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The topic that rejection of something we know is the key to self knowledge is a controversial one. On one hand, we are always taught that learn from the mistakes and experiences which you have made or gained and from those around you. And make sure that we don't repeat them. On the other, people also encourage us to make new mistakes and learn from your mistakes. I, however, do not concede with the author on this recommendation and it has been elaborated in the following sections.

Firstly, knowing about the things already in existence helps us to improve them and make somethings new out of them. For example, when the early humans lived in the jungles and were learning how to live a civilised life, they stepped across fire. Since then, people are experimenting about the things which can be done with fire, like making a live counter in cafeterias, playing with fire has become an adventure sport and how to protect one from fire. fire has become an essential in our lives now. Similarly, our ancestors had invented the wheel. With the help of it, people were able to travel long distances in shorter duration of time. people have upgraded it to the next level now. we are now able to go off-road travels in our cars, have anti-skidding wheels, and so on. if we had disregarded their existence and thought to have invented these things again, we will be back in the stone age era, living as hunter-gatheres. thus, refuting the familiar cannot be the first key to self-knowledge.

Secondly, with the two worlds wars which the world has seen over the centuries, people have learnt a lot of lessons. they have learnt that these wars only destroy nations and do no good to people. instead of fighting among use, if we made fair pacts and worked together, there would be more development in the world. it can benefit each person on earth. also, the major thing which is nations learnt through these wars in the importance of economic stability in country. Almost every country in the world has faced recession. countries have gone through phases where their denizens are dying because of hunger. they are only be able to live off bread pieces that too only once in two days. Seeing all these adverse conditions, after the world wars, the countries agreed to make one united bank and a united institution which will oversee all the conflicts and monetary related problems of the world. thus, it led to IMF and UM assembly which now handle the world peace and world money smoothly, establishing peace in the world.

But on the contrary, there have been examples in which the rejection of familiar had set open gates for new learning. The opt example for this the scientist, Galileo. he had objected the then famous notion that earth was the centre of universe and all the other planets and sun revolved around it. instead he had claimed and proved that the sun was the centre of the milky way and the other planets, including earth, revolved around it. also, there were many other galaxies present in the universe along with the milky way. people were apprehensive of this believe then. but when it was proved later, the citizens understood their mistake and exalted Galileo for this discovery. Had it not been for Galileo, people would still be having a misconception about it.

So, rejecting a familiar notion may lead to self-knowledge, but at this not always the case. we can look into possibilities and find new ways in which development can be made. thus, learning from already existing things is far more important than rejecting them.