The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The author says that a nation is as a great nation when it is indicated by the general welfare of the people and not by the contribution of the scientists, artists and rulers.However, I do not agree with this idea. I feel that the rulers, scientists and artists are the people who define the nation. And their contribution surely make the nation proud.

To bolster this, we can state that nuclear weapons and other artilleries have much importance in the current world which make nations like U.S.A. and Russia so powerful and dominant in the enitre world. As these nations are way ahead in the field of arillery technology, they are treated to be superiors and have more rights over various opportunities.Other developing nations look up to these nations and consider them as role models. And also they have their veto powers because of their dominance in the field of weapons.

Another great example is that of rulers. when the rulers are famous, that was generally for how well they governed their state. The rulers were known for their intelligence on how to keep the enemies at a bay, keep the citizens satisfied, and how with minimum loses and war, they could conquer more area. All these things helped the nation to become a great nation. Although the citizens may have some slight glitch with the authorities, still overall the nation used to work efficiently.

Also, we have great artists like Michael Jackson and Lata Mangeshkar, by whom people across world recognize U.S.A. and India . Had they been not so famous in their respective fields, the nations would not have been recognized and considered great to have produced such precious talents.

But on the contrary, we have the example of Japan. This country invested heavily on its people. The country helped to make its citizen strong and educated which helped to make the country strong. And thus they could comeback as a strong and developed nation. Here it was the joint efforts of the denizens that helped to make their country great.

Also, the rulers, scientists and artists of any country are also the citizens or people of that nation. So, their contribution to make a country great should not be treated differently. thus the scientists, artists and rulers make the country great.