"Over the past year,our late night news program has been devoted increased time to the national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explains how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The assumption that the author makes about restoring the weather and local news to its former level is based on several assumptions such as that complaints about the coverage of news, advertising contracts being cancelled and so on. Due to these assumptions, the argument is weakened. In the following sections, these assumptions have been elaborated along with the evidence which would strengthened the argument.

First of all, the weather and local news time had been reduced last year. Its been a year since the change and a lot of things might have been altered since then. Probably, now people might have switched from watching news to reading newspapers. Or perhaps, they now would like to listen to news while commuting on radios or podcasts. Had the author had provided us with semantics that the number of viewers or listeners in all the categories have been the same as of last year, then the argument would have been strengthened.

Secondly, the station had received many complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news. No where it has been mentioned that these complaints had been regarding the reduced duration these set of news got in the late-night news program. The complaints could be about the inaccurate coverage about the local news or it can also be about the wrong prediction of the weather forecast. If the subject of these complaints had been mentioned in the argument, then we could conclude that increasing the time devoted to these news will be helpful or not. Without these evidences, the argument is weekend.

Next, the local business have cancelled their advertising contracts with the station. it could be because the nation would be facing a recession, or the local business have been on the verge of bankrupcy. it might also have been the case that the station would be costing them a fortune for the contract renewal and they have found another station willing to advertise their business at smaller amount. As the author hasn't presented us with any of the above facts, we cannot say that increasing the duration of weather and local news will be of any help to the station. Only with the knowledge of these situations, the argument be strengthened.

As the author hasn't given us the a comparison of last year and this year's situation, nor the subject of viewers' complaints and not about the contract renewal amount of the station, the argument is flimsy. Had the author provided us with all the facts and figures, the argument would be strengthened.