A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio. “We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.” Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumption proves unwarranted.

The argument that the producer makes about the need for extra budget for the movie is based on a series of assumptions. these assumptions are not provided with any evidences to support it. thus the argument made is very weak. Had the author provided us with facts and figures, we would be able to understand the argument better. The assumptions made are explained in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the assumption that the producer makes is that the advertising industry and the film industry are same. he assumes that similar amount of money or re-takes taken will be needed in a movie as in a short ad film. The accuracy required in an ad-film will be more because a lot of zoom-ins and nitty-gritty are required to be squeezed in a few seconds. where as in the a movie, we have a few hours to display everything. thus, probably the number of retakes will be less.probably, a handful scenes be over in just one shot as well. Had the producer given us the details about the number of scenes, number of re-takes and money required in both ad-films and movies required, the we will be able to make a better judgement. In the absence of it, the argument is weak.

Secondly, the producer says that as the director is from the advertising background, he will take a lot of time to get a particular scene properly. just because of someone's background, you cannot say assume something about the person. probably, this director has the speciality of completing an ad-film in one take and he hopes to translate this into the movies as well. if this happens, the a lot of time and money will saved as almost all the scenes will be completed in one take. also, completing any scene in few takes depends not only on the director but also on the actors. if the actors perform according to director's plan, then it can be completed faster, if not so, then the director has to take multiple takes. As the producer hasn't given any information about the directors or the actors who are part of the film. In lieu of the absence of this information, the argument is weak.

Next, initially the producer states that the extra budget is required because the director may take a lot of time to get one scene right and in the end he states that the assistant director and producer will extra time in getting things arranged. The producer here is confounded about exactly where is the extra time being invested and where is the extra budget required? is it for the expensive locations that the director wants or is it because the director takes multiple shots before finalising the scene. Had the author shared the details about the time required by assistant producers, assistant directors, director and actors respectively, we would have a better understanding about the argument. As we are unaware about them, the argument is weak.

In conclusion, the producer has not given us a lot of details about the director, assistant directors and producers, actors, the time spent by each person and the budget allocated to each department, the argument is weak. Had he provided us all these semantics, the argument would have strenghtened.