A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working title by 10° in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, argument is based on unwarrented assumption that the first time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company will be similarly wasteful in directing movies as he was in directing commercials, rendering its conclusion, that the if they don't get extra money the movie will fail, invalid.

The argumet fails to provide any justification that the first-time director whose only experience has been directing commercials will be similarly wasteful in directing movies as he was in directing commercials.

for one, the director may be working on a movie for first time but it is also possible that he might have worked as an assistant director in movies and is well aware of differences in spendin in commercials and movies. The immportant idea could explain the that the new director will not take shot after shot and spend money wastefully as he used to do in commercials.

The argument would be more convencing if it provided more information about how new director is lacking experience in movie direction. even then, the argument would have to further prove that, how he will not learn new things about movie direction before starting his firt work as a movie-director.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. even if the first-time director will spend money wastefully and the producer have to hire inexperienced assistant producers and directors in order to save money, it not neccesary that thease new, inexperienced producers and directors will lead to greater expendeture in paying actors and crew overtime, it is possible that these new assitant directors and producers are inexperienced but will perform well on their first project.

Because argument makes sevral unjustified assumptions, it fails to make convencing case that if the funding for the movie Working Title is not increased by 10%, the movie will fail.