The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. primarily, the argument is based is based on the unwarrented assumption that the increasing number of illegal immigrants are the only threat to countrys' economy and national identity and returning them to there country of origin is only solution.

The argument fails to provide any justification that sending illegal immigrants back to their country will

help a country to preserve their national idendentity. For one, the number of increasing legal immigrants can also prose threat to the national identity of the country. had the argument provide some prove and data that legal immigrant are not threat to country's national identity but illegal immigrants are.

Even if the argument had provided such prove or data, there are many other unanswered questions that argument leaves, for example the argument states that illegal immigrants prose threat to the country's economy while it can be true but there no justification or prove provided to support this claim, it might be possible that the illegal immigrant's main motive to entering one country is a stable life and a job in such case these illigal immigrants will contribute to the economy of the country and not the other way around.

Because the argument makes sevral unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make convencing case that if illegal immigrants entering the country are not checked, they will pose threats to country's economy and national identity and hence every effort must be made to return these illegal immigrants back to their origin country.