W

The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal Wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tutted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlandé has been prohibited. Now .local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpehteria, which had a similar ' sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's

biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The following argument is flawed due to number of reasons. primarily the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that the West Lansburg and neighboring Eastern carpenteria are same, rendering conclusion, that the West Lansburg will follow decline in population as Eastern Carpenteria

after devlopent of road.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the two sancturies are similar for one, the decline in population of sea otter may be contributed by some other factor and not because it's santury status has been retracted.had the argument provided the information regading how two santuries are similar, even than the argument would have to further prove that how construction of road is similar to retraction of sanctuary status.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions. Even if the two sancturies are similar, the devlopment of road along west lansburg sanctuary does not mean it sanctuary status would be retracted and it may be possible that the devlopement of road will bring more tourists to sanctuary which in turn will help the sanctuary to burgeon.

finally, the argument claims that what held true in 1978 will hold true today.

Because the argument makes sevral unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make convencing case that in order to preserve the biodiversity and ensure healthy environment of Langsburg sanctuary