In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. first, the argument is based on unwarrented assumption that the state's plan to clean up the river will be successful and second, the argument does not provides enough information to support to support the crediability of the survey, rendering it's conclusion, that if government devote more money in this year's buget to riverside recreational facilities, it will result in increase in use of river for water sports, invalid.

the argument fails to to provide enough information to support the results of the surveys that mason city residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. the survey data presented lack depth of detail that would help us to evaluate the significance of the study results. how many people were surveyed? what was the margin of error how was the study conducted? if the survey represented large enough group to extrapolate the genral population? if alternatively few people were surveyed than it might be possible only few people will like water sports. The argument will be more convencing if the more information have been provided regarding the survey. Even then the survey claims that people ranked water sports on top that does not mean that they will go boating or swimming if the river was clean, it might mean they like watching water sports.

The argument leaves many other unanswered questions. even if the residents of the mason city will go water sporting if the river will be clean, the argument does not provide enough information to support the claim that investing more money in recreational facilities will result in clean river, it might be possible that the increased buget is also not enough to clean the river. Possible unintended consequences need to addressed before implementing such a plan, or the city government with find itself with surprise.

Because argument makes sevral unwarrented assumptions, it fails to make convencing case that if government devote more money in this year's buget to riverside recreational facilities, it will result in increase in use of river for the water sports.