The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the autonomy of any country is based on the strengths of its borders. stated in this way, the argument manipulates the facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation that if the number of immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, the country's economy and national identity is endangered. it reveals the examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminologies. The argument simply fails to mention the key factors on the basis of which the autonomy of any country is evaluated.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that the only reason to judge a country's autonomy is based on the strength of its borders. it stretches the evaluation on the basis of no-check on the illegal immigrants entering a country and posing a threat to economy and national identity. clearly, there is no other criteria which is highlighted for strengthening the country's autonomy. For example, not just the illegal immigrants are the targets, also the corruption within the country is a serious threat to the autonomy which needs a check. also, there is no proof that states entry of illegal immigrants is permitted in any country. it simply fails to ignore the facts of security and safety measures every country nowadays imposes to ensure that the country is in safe hands. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that how these immigrants are not checked and how these immigrants are harming the national identity even if they enter the country.

Second, the argument claims that illegal immigrants pose threats and thus, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin. this is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between threats and the immigrant return. To illustrate, there is no example strengthening the fact that how these immigrants are imposing any harm to the country or its natives or its autonomy. While these immigrants may also be a reason to establish positive relations among nations or bring diversity between any two countries, however these notions in the given argument do not have any clear or firm base to prove the idea of threat. if the argument had provided any evidence that supported the reasons for threat to country, then it would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, reading the argument arises many questions in the mind of the reader about the various allegations made for the immigrants and stating clear reasons as to why these immigrants are stated illegal, why no checks are made before their entry in the country and how do they impose any threat to the economy and national identity? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In the conclusion, the argument is flawed for above mentioned reasons and therefore, unconvincing. it could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have a complete knowledge of all the contributing factors.