Some people fail in school but end up being successful in life.

Why do you think that is?

What is the most important thing to be successful in like?

The definition of success varies across a wide spectrum and although the school system describes people with good grades as successful, there is no correlation between life achievements and school success. Although the school might prepare a person to tackle real-life problems, however, in most circumstances, a person needs to learn how to overcome obstacles in life to be successful.

I think most education systems focus on knowledge based education rather than critical thinking ability and analytical skills. Even though a wide number of schools often market themselves to develop these competencies through innovative learning and teaching methods, most of these institutions fail to do so. In addition to this, school is a well-structured environment where there is a certain pattern about how everything happens. As an example, the syllabus is known and the question comes with a certain repeated cycle. In contrast, real life is uncertain. I think this is the number one reason why merit listed students often fail in work life and vice versa.

What do I think is the number one reason behind making a person successful in life? Is it grit, resilience or even mental aptitude? Well I think before one becomes the master in the world, he must learn about his own self. For example, Socrates came up with the quotation, "Know thyself", and it can be deduced that everyone's success lies within themselves. This is the reason why most people often fail and even if they seem financially competent or have a high status, they might not believe in their own selves and feel internally unhappy.

In a nutshell, the purpose of life is to know your inner talents and do the best you can to become what you can. This need and the achievement or self development is success. Now if a person feels success from the inside, there is no one in the world who can argue against this.