The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president and director of the alumnae association at Grove College disagree on the subject of the school admitting students gender. The president argued that in order to increase the enrollment, the school should open its door for both genders instead of just female students. On the other hand, the director opposes this recommendation due to many surveys from incoming students and alumnae. However, both of them need to answer the following questions in order to make the recommendation and the argument which it bases on reasonable.

The president assumed that since other all-female colleges experience increase of enrollment after adopting coeducation, Grove College is able as well. Here, we need to ask how many all-females colleges that changed to coeducation system have had an increase in enrollment. What if there are 10 all-female colleges adopting the new system and only 2 of them have increased in enrollment? We do not have the answer to this question for us to evaluate the president’s recommendation.

Another question we need to ask is who did the survey for the incoming students. What if the survey was done by the director himself? It is entirely possible that the director only ask students who he knew would stand by his side. If this is the case, then we cannot for sure know if the survey can honestly reflects the feeling of the incoming students. Or, perhaps, the survey pool was not a sufficient size. What if the survey was only sent to 10 incoming students and there are 1000 incoming students? That is only 1% of the total students’ voice which is obviously not enough.

The director of the alumnae association also mentions that the survey from alumnae shows strong favored in keeping the college all female. Again, we need to ask: Who did the survey? Is the survey conducted fairly and reasonably? We need more information about these survey in order to decide whether if the argument to oppose the plan of the president is reasonable.

Yet, even if the survey of alumnae was conducted fairly, we need to ask if the future students enjoy the same features of a school than the students in the past? It is possible that the alumnae who answered the survey were all graduated decades ago and they prefer all-females schools due to gender inequality during the time they went to school. The students nowadays do not have to worry about gender inequality, and therefore they prefer schools with coeducation system. Here, again, we do not have enough of information to answer the questions above for us to evaluate the argument.

The director of the alumnae association at Grove College needs to answer the above questions in order to strengthen his argument.