The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The personnel director of Acme Publishing Company recommended the president that all the employees should take the Easy Read course to improve productivity. However, the personnel director needs to answer the following questions to strengthen his claim.

One graduate of the course showed that he is able to finish a 500-page report within 2 hours. However, we do not have information of the report. Do we know the content of the 500-page report? Let’s say the report is full with graphs and tables, it would not be particularly impressive to speed read this report. If, perhaps, the report was truly difficult to read, do we know if the course graduate had fully understand the content of the report and is able to use it accordingly? He could have just glance through the pages and not understand a thing in the report. It is hard to know whether if the course had improve productive for the graduate if we do not have these questions answered.

In another case where the graduate rose to vice president from assistant manager within a year. Do we know the structure of the company he is working at? Perhaps the company has many vice presidents and it takes on average only couple months to become a vice president. For example, a startup can have less than 10 employees includes CEO, CFO, CTO, manager...etc. It is hard to say whether it would be a difficult process to rise to vice president without the knowledge of the company itself. Hence, the personnel director needs to answer some questions of the company before we can judge the productivity of the other graduate.

Last, the personnel director need to answer the question: do we really need to require “all” the employee to take the speed reading course? For position such as manager assistant, sure. A manager assistant needs to read through a large amount of files in a short time in order to report them to the manager. However, what about the security guard in the front door? Or, perhaps, the cleaning lady for the bathroom? Both of these jobs do not concern much reading skill. It is clear that speed-reading for them are not going to increase the productivity in their job. Hence, we know that perhaps not all the employees need to take the Easy Read course.

In conclusion, the personnel director of Acme needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his argument.