Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While it is true that governments should ensure their major cities have sufficient funds due to many reasons, I disagree that one of the reasons is major cities is where a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

A nation’s major cities are usually the most developed area in the country, and it is also the case that those cities are the most globalized places compared to other cities. Globalization bring great ideas and cultures around the world to the major city, and it is also the reason why many people enojy living in major cities. However, it certainly does not help preserved the local culture of a nation since the city is mix with cultures from other part of the world. For example, Taipei is the capital of Taiwan and also the biggest city in the nation. If you ask a Taiwanese where you can find the best pork belly fried rice, the most popular traditional Taiwanese crusine, he or she would tell you to go to Tainan, a city in southern Taiwan. In Taipei you can find crusine from all over the world, however, it is unlikely you find the best traditional Taiwanese food in this city.

A major city also means that it is a place where businesses trive. People who live in the major city usually have business lives and work where they are required to be professional. For example, New York City is one of the biggest city in the United States, and if you walk around the city most people would dress in business professional outfit such as suits or dresses since this is what they are required to wear. However, in smaller cities where dress code are not required so strictly, it is possible that people can wear what they enjoy, hence starting a new trend or preference in the area. Therefore, in major city it is harder to generate culture such as in appeals.

Nevertheless, governments should still provide sufficient financial support for the major cities since more people live in major cities nowadays then smaller cities or rural areas. In conclusion, although governments should ensure the mojor cities have enough of funds due to reasons like there are more citizens living in these area, governments should not expect the major cities can preserve or generate a nation’s cultural tradition.