Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

These days we are living in a more and more cosmopolitan world, and reserving a nation's cultural traditions are becoming difficult. Therefore we often hear people claim that the government should give financial support for the protection of traditions and it is no wonder what should the government subsidize has been a controversial issue. Although in some exceptional cases my claim does not hold true, however, I would like to argue that in most developed countries major cities should receive financial support.

First and foremost, in the contemporary world a nation's population is concentrated in cities. More people are living in the metropolitan areas, and that means modern culture often stems from cities because modern cultures often sprout where people gather. We can easily find various examples, but let's take Japan as an example. Japanese Moe-culture, which is nowadays well-known all over the world, comes from Akihabara district, an area in the center of Tokyo, which is the largest city in Japan and the capital at the same time. In this way, modern culture is frequently generated in city areas, thus it is reasonable for the government to give allowance to their primary cities for the preservation of modern cultures.

Second, cities are playing a critical role in the preservation of cultures. When we take a trip to a foreign country and visit their major cities, we almost always find museums in the city. These museums have significant importance since they usually exhibit the country's and people's history, cultures and traditions. Sometimes they even exhibit ancient cultures which have already been lost, making these museums the only place to preserve those cultures. Therefore, giving financial support for these places is of substantial importance for both protecting existing cultures and lost ones.

Having said that, I have to admit that my argument does not hold true in some cases. Consider developing countries with less urbanization compared to developed countries, in these countries, most people still live in rural areas and thus cities do not conduce to the contribution of cultures and at the same time, we can quite often observe that cultures still remain in rural areas. According to my personal experience, when I visited Kenya three years ago, I enjoyed immersing myself in local indigenous cultures and traditions by visiting local villages. In these cases, the government needs to pay attention to rural areas for the protection of their traditions.

To recapitulate, I would like to assert the claim and reason seem reasonable in developed and urbanized world, however, in developing countries these claims do not hold true.