Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

It is often hard for someone to see their ideas through, if people around he or she doubts and criticizes his or her idea, however I believe it is those people who will eventually leave a lasting legacy. In this essay, I'd present my idea with some supporting examples.

Firstly and foremostly, it is common that idea which contribute for the advocate to leave a lasting legacy are revolutionary and novel, therefore at first those ideas are not accepted by ordinary people because the idea contradicts with those existing idea that people already have, and it is quite likely that people would doubt and criticizes the idea. However, if one persevere in their prospective idea, they would succeed and leave a lasting legacy. We can see manifold examples in the field of science and politics.

One example in the field of astronomy is the feat of Galileo Galilei. At the time when Galileo Galilei lived, it is widely believed that the earth is flat, however Galileo Galilei conducted a series of scientific experiment and found out that the earth is rather an sphere. At first, people felt repulsion against his idea, because it is at odds with common Christian belief, and he was even sentenced to jail, but Galileo Galilei didn't succumb to his opponents, and strived to substantiate his ideas in whole his life. In the end, as we all take it for granted today, it is a scientific fact that the earth is a sphere. In this way, Galileo Galilei left a lasting legacy for the humanity.

The second example is related to politics, Lincoln, the American presindent in 18th century tried to abolish slavery, however as a matter of course, the idea received criticism, especially from those people from southern states, in which people relied on slavery for their agricultural production. His idea and the conflict over slavery even triggered the American Civil War, resulting in catastrophic casualities, but eventually Lincoln won the war and he succeeded in the abolition of slavery. The influence of the abolition is not limited to the United States. Thesedays slavery is banned in almost all countries, thus we can conclude that although he faced criticism and doubts, he eventually left a lasting legacy.

To recapitulate my claim, for the examples and reasons aforementioned, I believe that people who see their idea through tend to leave a lasting legacy regardless of criticism and doubts.