The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded

At first sight, the attempt of the university to introduce a community service requirement for its students seems persuasive, however, the argument has several logical flaws and is based on several fallacious assumptions. One must objectively and critically analyze their data and proof for their propose before making a decision.

Firstly, they are planning to impose at least 8 hours of unpaid work lasting for 9 months for their students for nurturing well-rounded and charitable members of society, however, they provide no evidence or proof that unpaid community service of a long period is conducive to forming well-rounded members and do their student good. Without any statistic data showing the correlation between the formation of students' personality and unpaid community work, the argument remains unpersuasive. Therefore, some scientific experiments and research should be conducted in order to prove the relationship. Moreover, they are ignoring the possibility that such a requirement of unpaid labor can have a negative effect on students' study. Thus, if no positive correlation was found such a requirement would only be detrimental for the students.

Secondly, the passage is based on an assumption that students can gain real-world working experience through unpaid community service, however, almost all work in the real world involves paid. The real-world working experience also involves the experience of receiving wages, and students can fully realize the importance of money through paid work. In this way, the requirement of unpaid labor is quite unreasonable for gaining real-world working experience.

Thirdly, the local charities may not be inclined to accepting amateur students. The passage assumes that local charity would be favorable to students' help in their work, however it is possible that some of the local charities require special expertise and knowledge, making it extremely hard for amateur students who have almost no experience in the field to help their work. Without ruling out this possibility, it is quite likely that students' community service is undesirable for both the local charities and the students.

To recapitulate my ideas, although the propose made by the university seems promising, it is based on several erroneous assumptions, and therefore it is imprudent to introduce a community service requirement before the more detailed discussion. They could improve their ideas by requiring paid community service instead of unpaid community service or shortend the duration of requirent.