Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

At first glance, the argument seems cogent, however, after careful analysis, we can find the argument lacks some substantial proof and evidence, thus making it less persuasive. More research should be conducted to verify the conclusion of the argument.

First and foremost, the arguments assume that it was impossible for the Palean people to cross the deep and broad Brim River. However, the author forgets to consider a possibility that the depth of the Brim River is different than current depth and was shallow enough for the Palean people to cross it. Without ruling out this possibility, it is possible that the Palean people brought their woven baskets across the river, and those woven baskets later discovered by the archaeologist. If any evidence showing that the ancient Brim River was not deep enough hindering people's traversal, then the argument's validity would fall apart.

Secondly, the arguments draw the conclusion relying on the mere fact that no Paleans boats have been found, however, it is still possible that ancient people in Lithos used boats to cross the Brim River and trade with Palean people. If there is evidence proving use of boats of villagers of ancient Lithos people, the argument is totally undermined, because it implies that the Palean basket in Lithos could be acquired by Lithos people using their boats. After all, the author has to provide further data and proof for supporting his theory.

Thirdly, this argument is based on the assumption that the Palean basket excavated in Lithos was made by villagers in Lithos. However, no substantial data were given to confirm that assumption. What if the Palean basket was manufactured in prehistoric Palean, but later after a thousand years it was traded by local people? To claim that Palean baskets are not unique, the author has to give proof showing that the "Palean" baskets found in Lithos are not actually made by Paleans.

If the "Palean" baskets have some peculiar characteristics that are not common in Palean baskets, then this evidence may conduce to the veracity of the arguments.

To recapitulate, the arguments lack some data regarding the depth of ancient Brim River, the use of the boat in Lithos village, and the proof that the woven baskets recently found is actually from Lithos. Without further evidence, the conclusion the author made remains questionable.