Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

How many years a leader should stay in their powerful positions is a controversial issue. We can observe various institutions take different policy. In despotic countries, the nation's leaders will often stay in power for whole their life, while in democratic countries, presidents often resign after several years. In some fields, I believe that those in power should step down after five years or shorter in fields where the environments around them change fast. In other fields especially in which people's experience counts, however, I believe that the leaders should stay in power for a longer period. Therefore it is erroneous to conclude that the claim hold true in any field.

In business, politics, and governments, it is wise that leaders resign after five years because things change extremely fast in these fields. The business plan and policy current leaders have may sound obsolete and novel ideas from new young leaders are more desirable. The circumstances a nation's facing also vary fast, thus old idea incumbent political and government leaders have are no more effective. In these cases, revitalizing through new leadership is essential because it is necessary for leaders to keep their idea and knowledge up-to-date. Consequently, changing leaders after five years helps an organization to choose a competitive leader.

Changing leaders after years is also an efficacious way to prevent any corruption within the organization. When we look at history, we can easily find a myriad of examples showing old empires and kingdoms fall apart because of internal corruption related to autocratic leaders. In these cases, leaders never change after they acquired a position in power. People around the leaders will usually try to ingratiate themself to the only leader. Leaders will be tempted to engage themselves in vicious conduct. In this way, it is likely that leaders staying too long in their powerful position will foment corruptions. Changing leaders will surely clear these corruptions and will revitalize the organization.

In other fields, regularly changing leaders does not seem an agreeable idea. In fields such as education and science, experience counts more. Should a doctor in a university relinquish their position in the university? Of course, it is an absurd idea because it is necessary for a researcher to be well experienced and therefore the longer these scholars stay in position, the greater scholars they are. On the same note, the experience is of great importance in education. The head of schools should be versed in communicating with children. Therefore, we can conclude that in these fields those in power should stay in their position longer than five years.

To recapitulate, in some fields, leaders surely need novelty and up-to-date ideas, thus regularly changing leaders is a good idea and it will also prevent corruption. However, when personal experience counts, changing leaders often is not effective.