Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

I strongly disagree with the statement that understanding the past is of little use to those in current position of leadership. Actually I believe that understanding the past is something that is essential for leaders to do. In this essay, I'd like to present several examples and reasons for my idea.

Firstly and foremostly, understanding the past helps leaders to avoid making the same mistakes that past leaders have already experienced. When we take a look at history, we can find a myriad of cases showing mistakes that leaders of a nation or a group made. One of the most familiar and salient examples is WW2, in which conflicting nations could not avoid the disastrous war and use of a nuclear weapon, resulting in heavy casualty and devastation. If our contemporary leaders fail to learn from history, it is probable that such a tragedy would happen again, therefore I'd like to underline the importance of understanding the past for preventing making the same mistake.

However, some people may argue that the knowledge of the past is useless because circumstances are way different, therefore contemporary leaders don't have to understand the past. This claim might seem true in some fields, it may be true, in some cases, such as in the field of engineering and technology, the knowledge in the past may be already proven false, therefore it is not of much importance, however, in other fields, such as social sciences, there are plenty of facts that are true in that past and also true in contemporary world, and comparing the situations in the past and current situations and analyzing why those facts hold true in different circumstances would be instructive to current leaders.

To recapitulate my ideas, for the aforementioned reasons, I'd like to insist again that understanding the past if of great importance to those in current positions of leadership