Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the famous saying "Failure is the mother of success", one can find the vital role which past experiences play in current event or even future success. Past experiences whether it is good or bad will help one understand more about oneself and current situation, and then make a wise decision, just like a mirror to human. Therefore, in my opinion, understanding the past will benefit current leaders in various field, such as politics, business and science.

Firstly, history is a compulsory lesson in the political world. Mao ZengDong, the greatest leader in the Chinese history, read thouroughly about Chinese histories. From the past events, for instance, peasants revolutions, political reforms, economic development, he learned how a nation raised up and stood for hundred years. Thanks to all the vaulable lessons from the past, Mao summarised a special path for Chinese Revolution which is unite all the classes in the society and pay much attention on weapons and military force. By this strategy, Mao successfully led China to the victory of WWII and the Civil War. Therefore, past experiences can provide effective information about how to deal with different situations and what is the different reactions from people when various actions are implemented, thus helping the political leaders to make more effective and far-sighted decision.

Secondly, the past decisions and its consequences are important to business leaders. Consider, for example, if a company decided to sell a new product in a new market but it failed in the past. Now a new CEO is in augration, if he ignores the past failure experience and continue to use the same strategy in the new market. Will he succeed? Apparently, he won't. The new leader has to learn from the past and correct the strategy in order to be successful in the new market. Hence, understanding and learning from the past business decisions and market reactions will help current company leaders to form a more suitable business strategy and gain more profit.

Thirdly, the past experiences is of paramount importance to researchers in the science field. For instance, Edison invented thousands of things during his life. Without past experiences from himself or others, he would not be able to do so. The past results of related experiments show him what material is best suitable and what techniques can be used to connect different parts of the equipment. Therefore, past research results can save time for current researchers so they can focus on more crucial questions.

However, if one merely understands the past without looking at current situation and learn from the past, it will be of little use for her to study the past. In sum, understanding and learning from the past will help people to move further, have a deeper understanding of the current situation and make wiser decisions.