A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

To establish a national level curriculum for all students has both pros and cons. I agree that the positive side outperforms the negative side particularly during compulsory education, namely primay and middle school. However, it also provides some concerns to the education system.

On one hand, a universal curriculum for students before they enter college would benefit the society in several respects. Firstly, a uniform curriculum would reduce the cost of the school and teachers. Teachers are freed from learning and preparing new materials for students rather they can focus on existing textbooks and exam guildlines. Moreover, schools can save text purchase cost by recylcing old books and materials. Secondly, such system is the foundation of a national level college examination which is standard and fair. Consider, students from 31 different provinces in China study the same textbook and pass the same exam to enter college, this will greatly decrease the possible unfairness in terms of exam contends and formality. Such curriculum will be most benefit to primary student as it allows teachers and students to focus on basic knowledge and build up the same social value system.

On the other hand, such universal curriculum to some extent restricts students creative ability and overlooks the imbalance of regional development. For exmale, coastal region, the most prosperous place in China, enjoys high quality teaching faculties and high quality students which consequently provides more effective learning and better exam scores, thus leading more students to top-tire universities. However, students in western part of China who live in remote areas and even without proper textbooks apparently are more difficult to pass the same examination as coastal region students. Therefore, a national level curriculum will have some side effects on regional development and opportunity equality towards students. In addition, to set up such system, the government and educational institutions have to write the textbook scrupurously so that it takes the differences among provinces and development variations between cities and rural areas. Hence, it is paramount to decide which subject to involve and what contents to be examined before establishing a standard curriculum.

In sum, a national level curriculum hav eto be established with great care so that it takes the situation of different students across the nation into account and will benefit most of the population.