he following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This argument claims that the company should recover its program schedual for weather and local news to its previous level. However, I found this statement spurious as it overlooks some aspects of the analysis procedure.

Firstly, the author confounds the complaints with the welcome degree of a program. The speaker claims that most of the complaints are about the weather and local news program so it must received the highest attention of the audience. Nonetheless, there might be other possibilities. For instance, because the low quality of the weather and local news program, it receives numerous complaints. If this is the case, the TV station should terminate the program and redesign it for improvement. Therefore, the author should offer evidence for the comparison of the national news and this program so one can horizontally compare them.

Secondly, the author ignores the competitors in the market when analysing its late-night programs. It is possible that other news programs of its competitors are attracting more audience, hence the contractors shift their attentions and resign contract with other stations. Therefore, it is vital to provide information about its competitors when analysing the market of late-night news programs and reconsider its strategy.

Thirdly, the author fails to provide comparisons between the previous performance and current performance of the weather and local news program. One may assume that the program received much more complaints letter previously and thus returning to its former level will have no benefits for the company. It can also be ture that the advertising company decides to cancel the contract because during the contract period the program contributes little to its profit or the company may banrukpt so it is impossible to continue the contract. Hence, to evaluate the statement, the author has to provide detailed information about the reason of the concellation of the contract and the previous performance of the program.

In sum, the author has to elaborate on the performance of the program in the past and also its contractor and competitors' situation, thus one can evaluate the claim. If the author proves that the previous performance of the program is better, the company concelled the contract due to financial difficulty and the program outperforms its competitors in the market, the author is much reasonable to draw such conclusion.